BEST FIFA FOOTBALL AWARDS: Mo Salah, Modric, Mbappe, and Six Others To Compete With Ronaldo & Messi
BEST FIFA FOOTBALL AWARDS: Mo Salah, Modric, Mbappe, and Six Others To Compete With Ronaldo & Messi

2018 FIFA Best Football Awards: Mo Salah, Mbappe, and Six Others To Compete With Ronaldo & Messi

The Federation of International Football Association, FIFA has released shortlisted names of players to compete for the FIFA prestigious award, BEST Football Award.

The award which will be held in London by September feature names of male football players that shine in the just concluded Russia 2018 world cup.

To compete for the best football players in the 2017/18 football season, include:

The golden boy of the tournament, France’s Kylian Mbappe who besides equaling Brazilian Pele record of being the second youngest player to score in the knock out stage and in the final of the world cup, he emerged as the best young player of the tournament.

Raphael Varane, Antonie Griezmann also from France, joins the likes of Belgians’ Eden Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne, Egypt Mo Salah, Croatia Luka Modric, England’s Harry Kane to 

Full shortlist

  • Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus & Portugal
  • Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City & Belgium
  • Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid & France
  • Eden Hazard – Chelsea & Belgium
  • Harry Kane – Tottenham & England
  • Kylian Mbappe – Paris St-Germain & France
  • Lionel Messi – Barcelona & Argentina
  • Luka Modric – Real Madrid & Croatia
  • Mohamed Salah – Liverpool & Egypt
  • Raphael Varane – Real Madrid & France

In the women category: Bronze’s reward for fine season

Bronze’s inclusion on the women’s best player shortlist caps a fine 12-month period for the right-back.

The 26-year-old won a French league and Champions league double during her first season at Lyon after leaving Manchester City for France last August.

She is one six Lyon players nominated alongside Ada Hegerberg, Saki Kumagai, Dzsenifer Marozsan and French duo Amandine Henry and Wendie Renard.

Full shortlist

  • Lucy Bronze – Lyon & England
  • Pernille Harder – Wolfsburg & Denmark
  • Ada Hegerberg – Lyon & Norway
  • Amandine Henry – Lyon & France
  • Samantha Kerr – Perth Glory/Chicago Red Stars & Australia
  • Saki Kumagai – Lyon & Japan
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan – Lyon & Germany
  • Marta – Orlando Pride & Brazil
  • Megan Rapinoe – Seattle Reign & USA
  • Wendie Renard – Lyon & France