Dr. Kayode Fayemi Sworn in As Ekiti State Governor

The swearing-in of the elect governor of Ekiti State is underway.

Dr. John Kayode Fayemi who handed over to outgoing governor, Fayose in 2014 retakes the mantle of authority in Ekiti henceforth.

Governor Fayemi became the seventh democratically governor elect of Ekiti in the following order:

Name Title Took Office Left Office Party Notes
Mohammed Bawa Administrator 7 October 2001 August 1998 (Military)
Navy Captain Atanda Yusuf Administrator May 1999 (Military)
Otunba Niyi Adebayo Governor 29 May 2003 AD
Ayo Fayose Governor 29 May 2003 16 October 2006 PDP
Chief Friday Aderemi Acting Governor 17 October 2006 18 October 2006 PDP
Tunji Olurin Administrator 18 October 2006 27 April 2007 PDP
Tope Ademiluyi Acting Governor 27 April 2007 29 May 2007 PDP
Segun Oni Governor 29 May 2007 15 Oct 2010 PDP
Dr. Kayode Fayemi Governor 15th Oct 2010 16th Oct 2014 ACN
Ayo Fayose Governor 16th Oct 2014 16th Oct 2018 PDP