INEC officials to meet over APC, PDP opposition of campaign restrictions, INEC meets with former Heads of state over postponed elections, Commonwealth, AU, EU, ECOWAS hold secret meeting in Abuja, INEC Postponed General Elections By One Week, 2019 Election: INEC Releases Full List of Governorship Candidates, 2019 Election: INEC Releases Details of Candidates Across States
2019 Election: INEC Releases Details of Candidates Across States

2019 Election: INEC Releases Details of Candidates Across States

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has begun to release details of Governorship and House of Assembly candidates across states.

Prior to the release of the list on Friday, there have been controversies following the outcome of primaries in some states over the names of candidates submitted to the umpire.

See Also: House of Representatives Report That Indicted Osinbajo

In Ogun State, the candidate supported by the governor, Honorable Adekunle Akinlade, did not make the cut as Dapo Abiodun and Bode Mustpaha’s names were published as the flagbearer and running mate, respectively.

The commission also released the name of Mr Lawal Shittu as the governorship candidate for the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Reuben Abati – a former presidential spokesperson as his running mate.

In Cross River, the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Usani Usani, did not make the list.

While Senator John Enoh was listed as the candidate of the APC, the sitting Governor, Ben Ayade was listed as the candidate of the PDP.

Also See: Atiku woo workers, orders implementation of N33,000 minimum wages

In Imo State, INEC failed to publish the name of the APC governorship candidate.

A visit to the INEC office in the state on Friday, it was observed that the names of 67 other candidates from various political parties were published except that of the APC.

In Lagos, 41 candidates of various political parties in the state for the 2019 elections jostling to become the governor.

A check by a CityNews Correspondent at INEC office in Lagos revealed that 589 candidates of different parties are also jostling for 40 seats in the Lagos State House of Assembly.

The publication on Friday indicated that 41 political parties out of 62 in the state would contest the governorship election while 47 would participate in that of the state house of assembly.

Only APC, PDP, SDP, ADC, AD and MPN fielded candidates for all the 40 seats in the state parliament.

Political parties that fielded candidates in at least 20 of the 40 state constituencies for the house of assembly election are: ADP (34) , ACCORD (28), NCP (23), PPC (21), ANP(20), PPN (20), LP (32) and PT (20)

Speaking on the development, Mr Femi Akinbiyi, the Lagos INEC Public Relations Officer, said the commission had fulfilled the requirements of Section 31(1 and 3) of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) with the publication.

Akinbiyi said that the list of political parties and the particulars of candidates participating in house of assembly election had been published in the Local Government Offices of INEC in the various constituencies.

“With this publication now, the commission is set for 2019 elections.

“We enjoin eligible voters who are yet to pick up their Permanent Voter Cards to do so before it will be too late.

“Now, following the ongoing display of voters register across the 8462 polling units in the state, those PVCs have been moved to all the wards in each local government to bring it closer to the people for collection,” he said.